“The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

Image result for the girl on the train

Publish Date: 2015        Pages: 323

I must say, I absolutely LOVED this book! I started it Sunday mid-morning & finished that afternoon (with some housework sprinkled in between). It is a very fast-paced novel, so I would be surprised if many prolong reading it.

 

The main character’s name is Rachel, but I feel like so many of the characters are “main”. I also fear to say too much because of spoilers, but if you don’t know already I will say it is a murder mystery. It is very raw, full of emotion, and the writer doesn’t gloss over anything. You get real life, as painful as it may be. There was only one disappoint to me & it is writing related. I think the author used some descriptive phrases over & over again to describe certain weather. I’m unsure if she had no other expressions, or did not realize she was doing it, but it was moderately monotonous. On the other hand, she did write this gem: “Hollowness: I understand that. I’m starting to believe that there isn’t anything you can do to fix it. That’s what I’ve taken from the therapy sessions: the holes in your life are permanent. You have to grow around them, like tree roots around concrete; you mould yourself through the gaps.”

 

If you read “Gone Girl” & thought it was a worthy novel this is even better, trust me. Sorry I can’t say more, but I would hate to ruin any part of it for anyone! Would also be a great book club pick!

 

 

Leave a Reply

