“Kitchen Confiential” by Anthony Bourdain

pages: 352

Why I read this book: My boss gave this book to me for my birthday, knowing how much I love Anthony Bourdain.

To state first off….Anthony Bourdain is a GOD in my foodie world. The reason? The man spent his childhood in France eating traditional french food and loved it. Early on he was a very adventerous eater and took joy  grossing out his his family by eating things such as raw oysters. Second, he is an older, Sean Connery-esque, handsome man with that bad boy edge. Third, WITTY BANTER-Tony can write astonishingly well.

OK, now on to the book itself. He really does give you a brutal view of the resturant world that most of us would never know about. Tony starts readers at the forefront of what you do not want to hear about where your beloved food comes from and initially I was intimidated to ever eat out again. I also had no idea chefs were such playboys. Apparently they get more ass than most movie stars. Like most hip 20-something punks on a careening spiral to who knows where, Tony is the master.

I do not often read nonfiction, but this was a very fresh and welcome change for me. I enjoyed his writing so much I ordered his sequel to this book ( Nasty Bits ) and will have to try on his fiction as well.

~Geneva

Leave a Reply

